Level 2 - Frontline Care & Support Roles

Level two roles involve working directly with individuals and assisting them with their day-to-day care and support needs. Jobs at this level include: 

Care / Support Worker
Participating in the day-to-day care and support of individuals, including the delivery of personal care* where needed. Care / Support Workers help individuals with a variety of tasks such as; the preparation of meals, assisting with medication, laundry duties, cleaning etc. Good support will include asking the person how they want to be supported and offering as much choice and independence as the person can manage. This role exist across a variety of settings working with individuals with a variety of different needs and conditions. Watch Bethan's story to find out more about the rewarding nature of a front line care role.


Personal Assistants
Working directly for and with individuals to support them in every aspect of their daily living and enabling them to live as independently as possible. Find out more about being a Personal Assistants in Gloucestershire by visiting Glos Assistants 


Shared Lives Carer 
A Shared Lives carer shares their home and family life with a vulnerable adult who needs support to live everyday life. As a Shared Lives carer, you are self-employed,and will receive a weekly rate for the role rather than an hourly wage. Find out more about being a Shared Lives Carer in Gloucestershire visit Shared Lives Gloucestershire.


Entry Requirements:
Some organisations may look for individuals to have experience particularly in settings where the care is more complex. Most organisations do not require previous care experience as as full training will be provided. Many of the skills that you have developed in your every day life are transferable to a role in care. What’s really important is having the right values, behaviours and attitudes to compassionately and effectively support individuals to live fulfilling lives.


Qualifications include Awards, Certificates or Diplomas in Health and Social Care, Support Services, Clinical Skills or specific conditions such as Dementia, End of Life Care etc. These qualifications will usually be at level 2 or 3.


Help us improve Proud to Care Gloucestershire - new

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.